• There Must Be More Than That!
  • 그림작가 요시타케 신스케(ヨシタケ シンスケ)
  • 글작가 요시타케 신스케(ヨシタケ シン
  • 페이지 32
  • 출판사 Chronicle Books
  • 발행일 2020-10-06
  • From the creator of The Boring Book, a New York Times Best Illustrated Children's Book Shinsuke Yoshitake is back with a witty, thought-provoking picture book for our times. There Must Be More Than That! is all about perspective, and wading past the bad to embrace the possibility of good. • A thoughtful and laugh-out-loud exploration into an uncertain ever after • Empowers readers to choose their own future • A powerful antidote to anxiety for kids unsure about current events and what comes next What does the future hold? This question can be daunting—or delightfully promising! Readers of all ages will seek solace in this smart and spirited exploration of the good that might be right around the corner. • Perfect for fans of Shinsuke Yoshitake • Resonates year-round as a go-to gift for birthdays, holidays, and more • Ideal for children ages 5 to 8 years old • A great pick for parents and grandparents, as well as librarians and teachers • Add it to the shelf with books like Sofia Valdez, Future Prez by Andrea Beaty; What Do You Do With an Idea? by Kobi Yamada; and Dream Big, Little One by Vashti Harrison.
  • 2021-01-06
    637
  • The Strange Birds of Flannery O'Connor
  • 그림작가 Ping Zhu
  • 글작가 Amy Alznauer
  • 페이지 64
  • 출판사 Enchanted Lion Books
  • 발행일 2020-06-16
  • I intend to stand firm and let the peacocks multiply, for I am sure that, in the end, the last word will be theirs. -Flannery O'Connor When she was young, the writer Flannery O'Connor was captivated by the chickens in her yard. She would watch their wings flap, their beaks peck, and their eyes glint. At age six, her life was forever changed when she and a chicken she had been training to walk forwards and backwards were featured in the local news, and she realized that people want to see what is odd and strange in life. But while she loved birds of all varieties and kept several species around the house, it was the peacocks that came to dominate her life. Written by Amy Alznauer with devotional attention to all things odd and illustrated in radiant paint by Ping Zhu, The Strange Birds of Flannery O'Connor explores the beginnings of one author's lifelong obsession. Amy Alznauer lives in Chicago with her husband, two children, a dog, a parakeet, sometimes chicks, and a part-time fish, but, as of today, no elephants or peacocks. Ping Zhu is a freelance illustrator who has worked with clients big and small, won some awards based on the work she did for aforementioned clients, attracted new clients with shiny awards, and is hoping to maintain her livelihood in Brooklyn by repeating that cycle.
  • 2021-01-06
    415
  • Our Little Kitchen
  • 그림작가 질러언 타마키(Jillian Tamaki)
  • 글작가 질러언 타마키(Jillian Tamaki)
  • 페이지 0
  • 출판사 Harry N. Abrams
  • 발행일 2020-09-22
  • A lively celebration of food and community from Caldecott Honoree Jillian Tamaki Tie on your apron! Roll up your sleeves! Pans are out, oven is hot, the kitchen’s all ready! Where do we start? In this lively, rousing picture book from Caldecott Honoree Jillian Tamaki, a crew of resourceful neighbors comes together to prepare a meal for their community. With a garden full of produce, a joyfully chaotic kitchen, and a friendly meal shared at the table, Our Little Kitchen is a celebration of full bellies and looking out for one another. Bonus materials include recipes and an author’s note about the volunteering experience that inspired the book.
  • 2021-01-06
    425
  • A Story About Afiya
  • 그림작가 Anna Cunha
  • 글작가 James Berry
  • 페이지 32
  • 출판사 Lantana Publishing
  • 발행일 2020-04-07
  • Some people have dresses for every occasion but Afiya needs only one. Her dress records the memories of her childhood, from roses in bloom to pigeons in flight, from tigers at the zoo to October leaves falling. A joyful celebration of a young girl’s childhood, written by the late Coretta Scott King Book Award-winning Jamaican poet James Berry.
  • 2021-01-05
    318
  • Outside In
  • 그림작가 신디 데비(Cindy Derby)
  • 글작가 데보라 언더우드(Deborah Underwood)
  • 페이지 40
  • 출판사 HMH Books
  • 발행일 2020-04-14
  • From the New York Times best-selling author behind The Quiet Book comes a mindful contemplation on the many ways nature affects our everyday lives, even when we’re stuck inside. Perfect for fans of Joyce Sidman and Julie Fogliano, Outside In reminds emerging readers of the ways nature creates and touches our lives in homes, apartments, and cars, and is the perfect homeschooling tool to reflect on the world’s connectedness. Outside is waiting, the most patient playmate of all. The most generous friend. The most miraculous inventor. This thought-provoking picture book poetically underscores our powerful and enduring connection with nature, not so easily obscured by lives spent indoors. Rhythmic, powerful language shows us how our world is made and the many ways Outside comes in to help and heal us, and reminds us that we are all part of a much greater universe. Emotive illustrations evoke the beauty, simplicity, and wonder that await us all . . . outside.
  • 2021-01-05
    650
  • The Little Mermaid
  • 그림작가 제리 핑크니(Jerry Pinkney)
  • 글작가 Jerry Pinkney
  • 페이지 48
  • 출판사 Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • 발행일 2020-11-03
  • In this captivating reimagining of Hans Christian Andersen's classic, Caldecott medalist and bestselling artist Jerry Pinkney conjures a poignant friendship story and an epic tale of redemption -- the definitive new version for our time. Melody, the littlest sea princess, is not content just to sing in the choir of mermaids like her sisters. She is an explorer who wonders about what lies above the water's surface . . . especially the young girl she has spied from a distance. To meet her requires a terrible sacrifice: she trades her beautiful voice for a potion that gives her legs, so that she may live on land instead. It seems like a dream come true at first. But when trouble stirs beneath the ocean, Melody faces another impossible choice -- stay with her friend, or reclaim her true identity and save her family. Legendary artist Jerry Pinkney's singular reinvention of this tale about love and sacrifice empowers young, twenty-first century girls with the strong message that "you should never give up your voice . . . for anyone."
  • 2021-01-05
    511
  • If You Come to Earth
  • 그림작가 소피 블래콜(Sophie Blackall)
  • 글작가 소피 블래콜(Sophie Blackall)
  • 페이지 80
  • 출판사 Chronicle Books
  • 발행일 2020-09-15
  • From two-time Caldecott Winner author-illustrator Sophie Blackall! If You Come to Earth is a glorious guide to our home planet, and a call for us to take care of both Earth and each other. This stunning book is inspired by the thousands of children Sophie Blackall has met during her travels around the world in support of UNICEF and Save the Children.
  • 2021-01-05
    607
  • I Talk Like a River
  • 그림작가 시드니 스미스(Sydney Smith)
  • 글작가 조던 스콧(Jordan Scott)
  • 페이지 40
  • 출판사 Neal Porter Books
  • 발행일 2020-09-01
  • What if words got stuck in the back of your mouth whenever you tried to speak? What if they never came out the way you wanted them to? Sometimes it takes a change of perspective to get the words flowing. A New York Times Best Children's Book of the Year I wake up each morning with the sounds of words all around me. And I can't say them all . . . When a boy who stutters feels isolated, alone, and incapable of communicating in the way he'd like, it takes a kindly father and a walk by the river to help him find his voice. Compassionate parents everywhere will instantly recognize a father's ability to reconnect a child with the world around him. Poet Jordan Scott writes movingly in this powerful and ultimately uplifting book, based on his own experience, and masterfully illustrated by Greenaway Medalist Sydney Smith. A book for any child who feels lost, lonely, or unable to fit in.
  • 2021-01-05
    595
  • Thank You, Omu!
  • 그림작가 오게 모라 (Oge Mora)
  • 글작가 Oge Mora
  • 페이지 40
  • 출판사 Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • 발행일 2018-10-02
  • A 2019 Caldecott Honor Book Winner of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn as well as for the Thanksgiving season, a generous woman is rewarded by her community. Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself? Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma." This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora's life.
  • 2020-08-03
    1427
  • The Rough Patch
  • 그림작가 브라이언 라이스 (Brian Lies)
  • 글작가 Brian Lies
  • 페이지 40
  • 출판사 Greenwillow Books
  • 발행일 2018-08-14
  • A Caldecott Honor Book An ALA Notable Book A breathtakingly beautiful and luminescent book that is pitch-perfect for anyone of any age who has experienced any type of loss or disappointment, from New York Times–bestselling picture book creator Brian Lies. New York Times–bestselling author-illustrator Brian Lies has created a beautiful, accessible, and deeply personal story about friendship, loss, and renewal. The Rough Patch was awarded a Caldecott Honor and features stunning paintings from the award-winning creator of Bats at the Beach. Evan and his dog do everything together, from eating ice cream to caring for their prize-winning garden, which grows big and beautiful. One day the unthinkable happens: Evan’s dog dies. Heartbroken, Evan destroys the garden and everything in it. The ground becomes overgrown with prickly weeds and thorns, and Evan embraces the chaos. But beauty grows in the darkest of places, and when a twisting vine turns into an immense pumpkin, Evan is drawn out of his isolation and back to the county fair, where friendships—old and new—await. A deeply hopeful and positive book, The Rough Patch was awarded a Caldecott Honor and is a story about love, loss, and hope, and the healing power of friendship and nature. “Weepy and wonderful.”—Wall Street Journal
  • 2020-08-03
    1157