• Thank You, Omu!
  • 그림작가 오게 모라 (Oge Mora)
  • 글작가 Oge Mora
  • 페이지 40
  • 출판사 Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • 발행일 2018-10-02
  • A 2019 Caldecott Honor Book Winner of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn as well as for the Thanksgiving season, a generous woman is rewarded by her community. Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself? Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's stew, with an extra serving of love. An author's note explains that "Omu" (pronounced AH-moo) means "queen" in the Igbo language of her parents, but growing up, she used it to mean "Grandma." This book was inspired by the strong female role models in Oge Mora's life.
  • 2020-08-03
    236
  • The Rough Patch
  • 그림작가 브라이언 라이스 (Brian Lies)
  • 글작가 Brian Lies
  • 페이지 40
  • 출판사 Greenwillow Books
  • 발행일 2018-08-14
  • A Caldecott Honor Book An ALA Notable Book A breathtakingly beautiful and luminescent book that is pitch-perfect for anyone of any age who has experienced any type of loss or disappointment, from New York Times–bestselling picture book creator Brian Lies. New York Times–bestselling author-illustrator Brian Lies has created a beautiful, accessible, and deeply personal story about friendship, loss, and renewal. The Rough Patch was awarded a Caldecott Honor and features stunning paintings from the award-winning creator of Bats at the Beach. Evan and his dog do everything together, from eating ice cream to caring for their prize-winning garden, which grows big and beautiful. One day the unthinkable happens: Evan’s dog dies. Heartbroken, Evan destroys the garden and everything in it. The ground becomes overgrown with prickly weeds and thorns, and Evan embraces the chaos. But beauty grows in the darkest of places, and when a twisting vine turns into an immense pumpkin, Evan is drawn out of his isolation and back to the county fair, where friendships—old and new—await. A deeply hopeful and positive book, The Rough Patch was awarded a Caldecott Honor and is a story about love, loss, and hope, and the healing power of friendship and nature. “Weepy and wonderful.”—Wall Street Journal
  • 2020-08-03
    220
  • A Big Mooncake for Little Star
  • 그림작가 그레이스 린 (Grace Lin)
  • 글작가 Grace Lin
  • 페이지 40
  • 출판사 Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • 발행일 2018-08-28
  • A Caldecott Honor Book! A gorgeous picture book that tells a whimsical origin story of the phases of the moon, from award-winning, bestselling author-illustrator Grace Lin Pat, pat, pat... Little Star's soft feet tiptoed to the Big Mooncake. Little Star loves the delicious Mooncake that she bakes with her mama. But she's not supposed to eat any yet! What happens when she can't resist a nibble? In this stunning picture book that shines as bright as the stars in the sky, Newbery Honor author Grace Lin creates a heartwarming original story that explains phases of the moon.
  • 2020-07-30
    222
  • Alma and How She Got Her Name
  • 그림작가 후아나 마르티네즈 닐(Juana Martinez-Neal)
  • 글작가 Juana Martinez-Neal
  • 페이지 32
  • 출판사 Candlewick Press
  • 발행일 2020-04-10
  • A 2019 Caldecott Honor Book What’s in a name? For one little girl, her very long name tells the vibrant story of where she came from — and who she may one day be. If you ask her, Alma Sofia Esperanza José Pura Candela has way too many names: six! How did such a small person wind up with such a large name? Alma turns to Daddy for an answer and learns of Sofia, the grandmother who loved books and flowers; Esperanza, the great-grandmother who longed to travel; José, the grandfather who was an artist; and other namesakes, too. As she hears the story of her name, Alma starts to think it might be a perfect fit after all — and realizes that she will one day have her own story to tell. In her author-illustrator debut, Juana Martinez-Neal opens a treasure box of discovery for children who may be curious about their own origin stories or names.
  • 2020-07-30
    267
  • Hello Lighthouse
  • 그림작가 소피 블래콜(Sophie Blackall)
  • 글작가 Sophie Blackall
  • 페이지 48
  • 출판사 Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • 발행일 2018-10-04
  • A beloved picture book from two-time Caldecott Medal award-winner Sophie Blackall that transports readers to the seaside in timeless, nautical splendor! Watch the days and seasons pass as the wind blows, the fog rolls in, and icebergs drift by. Outside, there is water all around. Inside, the daily life of a lighthouse keeper and his family unfolds as the keeper boils water for tea, lights the lamp's wick, and writes every detail in his logbook. Step back in time and through the door of this iconic lighthouse into a cozy dollhouse-like interior with the extraordinary award-winning artist Sophie Blackall.
  • 2020-07-30
    204
  • Going Down Home with Daddy
  • 그림작가 Daniel Minter
  • 글작가 Kelly Starling Lyons
  • 페이지 32
  • 출판사 Peachtree Publishing Company
  • 발행일 2019-04-01
  • "On reunion morning, we rise before the sun. Daddy hums as he packs our car with suitcases and a cooler full of snacks. He says there’s nothing like going down home.” Down home is Granny’s house. Down home is where Lil Alan and his parents and sister will join great-grandparents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins. Down home is where Lil Alan will hear stories of the ancestors and visit the land that has meant so much to all of them. And down home is where all of the children will find their special way to pay tribute to family history. All the kids have to decide on what tribute to share, but what will Lil Alan do? In this rich and moving celebration of history, culture, and ritual, Kelly Starling Lyons' eloquent text explores the power of family traditions. Stunning illustrations by Coretta Scott King Honor-winner Daniel Minter reveal the motion and connections in a large, multigenerational family.
  • 2020-07-22
    174
  • Double Bass Blues
  • 그림작가 Rudy Gutierrez
  • 글작가 Andrea J. Loney
  • 페이지 32
  • 출판사 Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • 발행일 2019-10-22
  • A Caldecott Honor Book! A joyous celebration of family, community, and the unifying power of music, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street. Nic is an aspiring musician whose life spans two different worlds--his suburban school where he wows his friends in orchestra, and the busy city streets of his home where he's jostled by the crowd. Nic makes his way home from a busy day at school with a double bass on his back, the symphony of his surroundings in his heart, and a sweet surprise for the reader at the end of his journey. This is a sweet, melodious picture book about how dedication, music, and family can overcome any obstacle.
  • 2020-07-22
    180
  • Bear Came Along
  • 그림작가 르웬 팜(LeUyen Pham)
  • 글작가 리처드 T. 모리스(Richard T. Morris)
  • 페이지 40
  • 출판사 Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
  • 발행일 2019-06-04
  • A Caldecott Honor Book! A cheerful and action-packed adventure about the importance of friendship and community from a successful author and illustrator duo! Once there was a river flowing through a forest. The river didn't know it was capable of adventures until a big bear came along. But adventures aren't any fun by yourself, and so enters Froggy, Turtles, Beaver, Racoons, and Duck. These very different animals take off downstream, but they didn't know they needed one another until thankfully, the river came along. This hilarious picture book and heartfelt message celebrates the joy and fun that's in store when you embark together on a ride of a lifetime.
  • 2020-07-22
    345
  • The Undefeated
  • 그림작가 카디르 넬슨(Kadir Nelson)
  • 글작가 콰미 알렉산더(Kwame Alexander)
  • 페이지 40
  • 출판사 Versify
  • 발행일 2019-04-02
  • Winner of the 2020 Caldecott Medal A 2020 Newbery Honor Book Winner of the 2020 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award The Newbery Award-winning author of THE CROSSOVER pens an ode to black American triumph and tribulation, with art from a two-time Caldecott Honoree. Originally performed for ESPN's The Undefeated, this poem is a love letter to black life in the United States. It highlights the unspeakable trauma of slavery, the faith and fire of the civil rights movement, and the grit, passion, and perseverance of some of the world's greatest heroes. The text is also peppered with references to the words of Martin Luther King, Jr., Langston Hughes, Gwendolyn Brooks, and others, offering deeper insights into the accomplishments of the past, while bringing stark attention to the endurance and spirit of those surviving and thriving in the present. Robust back matter at the end provides valuable historical context and additional detail for those wishing to learn more.
  • 2020-07-22
    187
  • 말이 씨가 되는 덩더꿍 마을
  • 그림작가 김고은A
  • 글작가 윤여림
  • 페이지 72
  • 출판사 천개의바람
  • 발행일 2020-07-10
  • 산골짝 너머에 덩더꿍 마을이 있었어요. 나도 덩더꿍 너도 덩더꿍! 날마다 사람들이 아웅다웅 싸워서 덩더꿍 마을이에요. ‘까마귀가 아저씨 하겠다!’ 서로 놀리지 못해 안달하고, ‘사촌이 땅을 사면 배가 아픈 법!’ 좋은 일 생긴 이웃을 보면 삐죽거리고, ‘말하는 것을 개방귀로 알아!’ 남의 말은 무턱대고 무시했지요. 사람의 혀는 뼈가 없어도 사람의 뼈를 부순다고 하지요? 그렇게 날마다 심술 사나운 말로 싸워대더니…… 세상에, 마을 사람들 다 골골 앓아누웠지요. 딱 두 사람만 빼고 말이에요. 누구인고 하니, 바로 털손바닥이랑 털발바닥! 감나무 밑에 누워서 홍시 떨어지기를 바라는 두 게으름뱅이였지요. 물에 빠지면 지푸라기라도 잡는다는 심정으로 마을 사람들은 두 게으름뱅이를 찾아가, 산꼭대기에 사는 산신령한테 약 좀 받아오라고 닦달했어요. 마을 사람들 등쌀에 못 이겨 결국 털손바닥과 털발바닥은 길을 나섰어요. 사람들은 시작이 반이라며 두 게으름뱅이를 등 떠밀었어요. 털손바닥과 털발바닥은 무사히 약을 구해 올 수 있을까요? 그리고 덩더꿍 마을은 조용해질 수 있을까요?
  • 2020-07-09
    476